Skip to content
*Free Shipping above RM300 for West Malaysia (T&C applies)
*Free Shipping above RM300 for West Malaysia (T&C applies)
Certification Standards for Elderly Care in Malaysia

Certification Standards for Elderly Care in Malaysia

The Malaysian Skills certificate (SKM) will be mandated in the long term for all AGED CARE OPERATORS. Possessing the right skills enables us to offer superior care to our elderly population in Malaysia. Please find below some information for your reference.

A. What is the current certification standard for Elderly Care under the National Occupational Skills Standards (NOSS)?

It falls under the Residential Care Activities for the Elderly and Disabled (Q873) category. There are three levels:

  • Level 3: CC-013-3:2013 Elderly Care Centre Operation
    • C01- Residents Receiving & Returning
      C02- Independent Residents Care Handling
      C03- Dependent Residents Care Handling
      C04- Residents Activities Handling
      C05- Residents Area Housekeeping
      C06- Premise Hygiene, Safety & Security Handling
      C07- Emergency Response Handling
      C08- Residents End Of Life Handling

  • Level 4 (Malaysian Skills Diploma DKM): CC-013-4:2013 Elderly Care Centre Administration

  • Level 5 (Malaysian Advanced Skills Diploma DLKM): CC-013-5:2013 Elderly Care Centre Management

B. How can one obtain the certificate?

The Malaysian Skills Certification can be acquired through three methods:

1 Via Training in a Recognized Institution:
This involves participating in training programs at Skills Development Department (JPK) accredited centers tailored for specific fields and skill levels.

2 Through Industry-Oriented Training (SLDN):
This entails undertaking apprenticeships within the National Dual Training System (SLDN) facilitated by industries and skills training institutes. Please find list of SLDN Certified Centres

2.1 Example of the SKM certificate for a SLDN Training Centre for entry level.

Entry Requirements:

  • Completion of Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM) or equivalent.
  • 18 until 40 years old
  • Malaysian citizen
  • Physically and mentally fit.

Duration: 12 month (6 month at training centre + 6 month attach with industry)

3 Through Accreditation of Prior Achievement (PPT):
This route involves obtaining the Malaysian Skills Certification based on prior experience (work or training). The candidate must provide evidence of their skills competency, which will be evaluated by the Assessing Officer and endorsed by the External Verification Officer appointed by JPK.

The advantages of certification through PPT are:
1. Obtaining a Certificate in a Short Period
2. No Need to Leave Employment or Attend Classes/Training
3. Low Cost (Does Not Involve Training Expenses)

There are two type of assessments:

1. Portfolio assessment
2. Practical assessment

Please see the list of documents required for PPT.

C. Important Websites for Reference:

 D. Is it necessary for me, as a nurse or doctor, to acquire the Malaysian Skills Certificate (SKM) in order to run a senior care center?

Yes, it is essential. While nursing and medical doctor programs encompass various medical skills, the SKM specifically hones in on developing expertise in elderly care.



About blogger, a division of the Asian Integrated Medical Sdn Bhd, is a distributor of high quality aged care, healthcare products and services. More information at About Us

Previous article Why Sentida 6 Home Nursing Bed Emerged as the Leading Brand in the Nursing Bed Industry?
Next article Discover the Top 5 Wooden Electric Beds for Ultimate Comfort and Style

Leave a comment

* Required fields

Latest Events

Compare products

{"one"=>"Select 2 or 3 items to compare", "other"=>"{{ count }} of 3 items selected"}

Select first item to compare

Select second item to compare

Select third item to compare